Search
  • Go Ask Debbie

Remove Track Changes in Word

Tracking can be used when documents are shared between customers and clients, for example. When a person on one end makes changes, the person on the other end can see exactly what changes were made. This can be especially helpful during negotiations between two parties. Each side can see what the other side deleted or added.

However, let's say you need to send your resume to a prospective boss. You probably would not want them to see edits and revisions that you made to your resume. If tracking was turned on and the hiring company has their view tracked changes on, they could see everything. Maybe not the most professional look for your resume.

Follow these steps to clear all comments, edits, revisions, and anything else you do not want shared.

Word 2007:

Click on the "Office" button, move to "Prepare" and select "Inspect Document." Uncheck or check the appropriate areas you want inspected and click on the "Inspect" button at the bottom of the window.

Word will open another window showing you items that you may want to remove. Click on the "Remove All" button next to the items you wish to remove.

Click on the "Close" button to save the changes and close the Inspect window.

0 views

©2020 by Go Ask Debbie. Proudly created with Wix.com